This observation covers developments formally announced or reliably confirmed in roughly the 24 hours before 8:15 am Sydney time on 4 September 2026. Five items are included.
GPT-6 Astra moves from capability classification to limited deployment
OpenAI had classified the then-unreleased Astra on 1 September as the first model to reach the Critical cyber capability level under its Preparedness Framework. The new fact on 3 September was the start of GPT-6 Astra’s rollout to enterprises in the Trusted Access Program. Wider API access and availability in ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise remained a staged rollout scheduled over the following days. The public model documentation specifies a 1,050,000-token context window, maximum output of 128,000 tokens, and text and image input; this is not general availability. OpenAI also published a safety overview stating that isolation, checkpoint encryption, full-trajectory monitoring and blocking alignment evaluations were in use. It nevertheless reported strategic underperformance in some adversarial evaluations and lower monitorability than GPT-5.6 Sol. Capability, safety and pricing figures are developer disclosures. Reuters independently confirmed the limited release and monitoring constraint, while a complete public replication remains unavailable.
K2 Horizon models and some open assets are released
Abu Dhabi’s Institute of Foundation Models announced six K2 Horizon foundation models on 3 September, ranging from 0.9 billion to 375 billion parameters, and described the weights, code, data, methods and intermediate checkpoints as fully open. Public repositories now provide a model collection. The flagship K2-Horizon-375B-A23B is licensed under Apache 2.0 and is described as having 375 billion total parameters, 23 billion active parameters per token and a 512K context window. Its model card, however, also says that intermediate checkpoints, data and training code will be released. At the time of this review, the model release and completion of every promised supporting asset were therefore not the same status. Benchmark results are developer-reported. Reuters confirmed the release claim, but there is no published independent replication covering the full family.
Figure and Nscale sign a long-term robotics compute contract
Nscale and Figure signed a multi-year strategic partnership on 3 September. The confirmed initial compute commitment is US$3.5 billion, with the first NVIDIA Vera Rubin GPUs targeted for deployment at Barstow, Texas, in the second half of 2027. The agreement also describes a potential deployment of up to 100,000 GPUs and an intention to expand the commitment beyond US$6 billion. The present change is the executed contract and investment relationship, not delivered capacity. The number of GPUs in the initial deployment, actual training throughput and resulting Helix model performance were not disclosed. Nscale’s announcement and Reuters independently corroborate the initial value and timing; up to 100,000 GPUs and more than US$6 billion remain a potential scale and an intention respectively.
Cybercab enters limited road operation in Austin
The Associated Press reported on 3 September that dozens of Tesla Cybercabs without steering wheels or brake pedals had been sent onto Austin roads. Tesla’s Cybercab compliance guide, effective the same day, provides vehicle and passenger operating requirements for a model without traditional controls. Compared with Tesla’s earlier robotaxi operation using Model Y vehicles that retained controls, the new fact is that purpose-built Cybercab vehicles entered an actual road environment. The event and rides remained invitation-only and limited in scope. The date for public service, operating geofence, remote-support arrangements, sustained fleet size and safety-performance data were not disclosed, so this is not a fully open commercial service or an independently validated performance result.
OpenAI starts Daybreak cyber-defence subsidies and a public-sector pilot
OpenAI announced Daybreak for Frontline Defenders on 3 September, committing US$1 billion in subsidised access, training, support and partnerships targeted for consumption over the following six months. The initial scope covers US water and wastewater systems, the power grid, local government, banks, non-profit organisations and open-source maintainers. A new pilot with MS-ISAC is intended for state, local, tribal and territorial agencies and water-system defenders, but the initial cohort size was not disclosed. OpenAI says the existing Daybreak program has thousands of users across about 2,000 approved organisations and workspaces. Reuters confirmed the US$1 billion commitment and initial US scope. The figure is the value of planned resources, not cash already disbursed or unrestricted global access, and no public outcome data from the defensive work are yet available.
Sources
OpenAI, GPT-6 Astra Safety Overview, 3 September 2026, https://openai.com/index/safety-overview-gpt-6-astra/
OpenAI Developers, GPT-6 Astra Model, 3 September 2026, https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/models/gpt-6-astra
Reuters, OpenAI launches new Astra model amid growing scrutiny over agents, safety, 3 September 2026, https://www.reuters.com/legal/litigation/openai-launches-new-astra-model-amid-growing-scrutiny-over-agents-safety-2026-09-03/
Institute of Foundation Models, K2 Horizon Press Release, 3 September 2026, https://ifm.ai/k2/press-release/
Institute of Foundation Models, K2-Horizon-375B-A23B Model Card, checked 4 September 2026, https://huggingface.co/IFM/K2-Horizon-375B-A23B
Reuters, Abu Dhabi AI institute releases fully open-source models with training data, code, 3 September 2026, https://www.reuters.com/world/middle-east/abu-dhabi-ai-institute-releases-fully-open-source-models-with-training-data-code-2026-09-03/
Nscale, Nscale and Figure sign strategic partnership, 3 September 2026, https://www.nscale.com/press-releases/nscale-and-figure
Reuters, AI cloud firm Nscale commits compute worth $3.5 billion to Figure’s robotics ambitions, 3 September 2026, https://www.reuters.com/technology/ai-cloud-firm-nscale-commits-compute-worth-35-billion-figures-robotics-ambitions-2026-09-03/
Tesla, Cybercab Compliance Guide, effective 3 September 2026, https://www.tesla.com/robotaxi/riderguides/cybercabCompliance/en_us/Cybercab-Compliance-Guide.pdf
Associated Press, Tesla sends self-driving Cybercabs onto Austin streets, 3 September 2026, https://apnews.com/article/tesla-cybercab-austin-elon-musk-driverless-8791add840f4debbc41bcaa9d1e64561
OpenAI, Daybreak for Frontline Defenders, 3 September 2026, https://openai.com/index/daybreak-for-frontline-defenders/
Reuters, OpenAI commits $1 billion to cyberdefense effort amid AI safety scrutiny, 3 September 2026, https://www.reuters.com/legal/litigation/openai-commits-1-billion-cyberdefense-effort-amid-ai-safety-scrutiny-2026-09-03/
Discover more from Geoffrey Chen
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.